Projects and Publications


In recent years, European municipalities intensified their cooperation in different fields of action like climate- and energy strategies etc..
e5-regio Bilder
e5-regio Bilder

For this reason, the e5-project managers and the committees of the European Energy Award® decided to adapt the existing e5-concept for communities and the application of the adapted version to defined regions.

The goal of the project “e5 regio” was the development of an appropriate concept in cooperation with chosen role model regions from the participating states. As a result, three different versions were defined which are:

  1. Partnership model (Partnerschaftsmodell): well-focused cooperation between the municipalities of the region and one or more communities are already e5-certified
  2. Cluster (Gemeindecluster): Every municipality of the region becomes e5-certified and gets individual support
  3. e5 region: the region is seen as one unit and supported as one “virtual” municipality

For putting the theoretical concept into practical application, five pilot regions were chosen which were  „Salzburger Seenland“ (Salzburg), die Kleinregion Mariazellerland (Styria), die Region Südkärnten (Carinthia), der Planungsverband Matrei in Osttirol – Virgental – Iseltal – Defereggental – Kals am Großglockner (Tyrol) and the region Vorderer Bregenzerwald (Vorarlberg).

The project was finished in 2011 but subsequently led to an important input for the quality management of the so-called “climate- and energy model regions (Klima- und Energiemodellregionen)”. Since 2015, the climate- and energy model regions are obliged to implement and maintain this quality management programme (KEM-QM). Again, the Austrian Climate and Energy Fund (Klima- und Energiefonds) initiated this project.


Period: 2009 to 2011

Website: /

Funding authority: Klima- und Energiefonds (Austrian Climate and Energy Fund

Partners: Österreichische Energieagentur (project coordination), Salzburger Institut für Raumordnung und Wohnen, Energieinstitut Vorarlberg, energie:bewusst Kärnten, Energie Tirol